Tri Talk HomepageTri Talk EventsTri Talk ForumsBlogsTri Talk TrainingTri TradeTriPlayerWikiTeam Tri Talk
Ironman kit
Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
mortirolo

PostPosted: Mon Jul 24, 2017 7:25 pm    Post subject: Ironman kit Reply with quote

Hi, I'm a cyclist and wanting to finish an Ironman 140.6 next summer. I haven't investigated much, but I want to start a bike ride with a decent pair of bibshorts like Assos for example especially with a 180km bike ride which isn't long for an experienced cyclist, the run is the problem for me but you need a decent pair of bibs to cycle properly for that distance.

How does the kit changing work? from swimming >cycle >run? Complete novice to Ironman so excuse me, I did Triathlons in mid 90's but obviously kit was very basic back then, the events I entered was only a handful.
PCP

PostPosted: Mon Jul 24, 2017 7:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

A decent tri suit will see you through all 3 disciplines withought thenneed to change.
caesar

PostPosted: Mon Jul 24, 2017 8:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There are changing tents so you can change completely between disciplines. At least there were at Ironman Switzerland in 2008!
Tin Pot

PostPosted: Tue Jul 25, 2017 7:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the base model tri suit from 2XU, spent 7.5hrs riding on it - undercarriage was fine.
Sprint '16 1h17, '14 1h40, '13 2h01
Half Mara '16 2h04, '14 2h07
10 Mile TT '16 00:26:30
Trail 10K '16 54:01 '13 54:46
Tri'ing Swimmer

PostPosted: Tue Jul 25, 2017 8:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Same as above, seems like most big tri's will have marquees for transition where can get changed, some even have individual booths within them for complete privacy (or people just get changed in front of other competitors +/- towel wrapped round them).