Tri Talk HomepageTri Talk EventsTri Talk ForumsBlogsTri Talk TrainingTri TradeTriPlayerWikiTeam Tri Talk
IM 70.3 gear/advice needed for rookie

View previous topic :: View next topic  
RookieSam

PostPosted: Thu Sep 28, 2017 10:48 am    Post subject: IM 70.3 gear/advice needed for rookie Reply with quote

Morning,

First post here so hi! I'm pretty new to tri, I did Saundersfoot sprint triathlon the day before IMW this month and the bug bit me hard so I have bought into IM Staffs in June 2018 for the biggest challenge so far.

My question is if you'd oblige me, what other bits do I 'need' and what else would be 'helpful'? What would be a 'luxury'?

My gear is as below:

Orca wetsuit with goggles

Tri shorts, just wore sports top, Scott Pro tri cycle shoes and a Scott AFD Expert road bike (will get aero bars for comfort), generic sports glasses, tri belt

Asics gel shoes and run in tri shorts/sports shirt.

Any advice appreciated. I'm aware a specific tri bike would be ideal but I don't think I have the budget for one but will make the purchase prior to doing IMW.

Many thanks,
Sam
iwaters

PostPosted: Thu Sep 28, 2017 11:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You have got the stuff you need, anything on top would be a luxury or a better version of what you have. My 2P you would be better off spending the money on "you". Such as:

- Swim Clinic to work on your technique and improve you swim
- Custom training plan from a coach or online
- Bike Fit

Power meter is always a good investment but they are expensive.

A tighter fitting tri top is probably worth it. A flappy sports top would be annoying and is less aerodynamic (although wont make a huge difference).

If you are looking for things to make you faster then a decent set of low CRR tyres wont break the bank and if you are running the default tyres the bike came with can make a difference.
RookieSam

PostPosted: Thu Sep 28, 2017 12:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote