Tri Talk HomepageTri Talk EventsTri Talk ForumsBlogsTri Talk TrainingTri TradeTriPlayerWikiTeam Tri Talk
Another LT Threshold topic - doh!
Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Shaggy.

PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2006 9:43 pm    Post subject: Another LT Threshold topic - doh! Reply with quote

Apologies if this is a dim question, but I'm a newbie, (6 months training under my belt), so all I've really learnt so far is how little I know about Training.

I did a sort of LT Threshold test on the turbo today. I did a swim before hand which is my excuse for the poor results (It might not be a great excuse, but it's the only one I've got so I'm sticking with it Smile).

From this test I estimate, very roughly of course, that my LT threshold is somewhere between 150 and 155 bpm with an output of about 250 watts. I went up to about 280 watts for the last couple of minutes of the test, but my heart rate stubbornly stayed below 160 bpm, even though my legs were burning nicely.

When I do my long-ish rides on the road (2 to 3 hours) my heart rate tends to average about 152-155 bpm, peaking sometimes at about 176 bpm, and on these rides I'm taking it relatively easy - well not killing myself anyway. For my shorter 40-60 minute rides my average heart rate is anywhere between 155 and 165 bpm.

This really confuses me - I would expect my heart rate to be higher on the turbo than the road as the intensity is greater, (although no cars to chase!), and the temperature also. But instead it's lower Question I also wouldn't expect my LT threshold to be as low as 150-155bpm given that this is my average for long-ish easy rides on the road Question

Am I missing something obvious here Question Has anyone else experienced the same thing Question , or am I just strange Question Actually, no need to answer the last question - I know the answer to that one Nerd [/b]
Apollo_Tim

PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2006 10:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote