Tri Talk HomepageTri Talk EventsTri Talk ForumsBlogsTri Talk TrainingTri TradeTriPlayerWikiTeam Tri Talk
Front Crawl
Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Andy_S

PostPosted: Fri Oct 03, 2003 9:39 am    Post subject: Front Crawl Reply with quote

Hi all (not sure if this should be in the training bit!),

I've been swimming for around three months now, doing three swims a week, about a kilometre each swim, and I still can't do the front crawl. I know what to do but can't swim more than about 20 metres without running out of breath or chocking. I've tried breathing on every stroke but can't get my stroke together because I seem to be breathing all the time, and breathing on the third stroke (like they say you should) but seem to run out of puff.

Does there come a point when perseverance will win or should I admit defeat and get some lessons? Iíve started to feel that Iím wasting my time going swimming if I canít practice what I want. Are you lot natural born front crawlers or did you have to break it? I started off swimming the breast stroke just to get some general fitness and started with the crawl about a month ago. Iím drinking so much water during my 40 minute swim that I have to get out the pool for a wee, thatís not good!
TT
Site Admin

PostPosted: Fri Oct 03, 2003 9:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Andy,

The obvious and perhaps best answer would be 'go get some lessons'. Good advice but not many people follow it.... including me.

I was in a similar situation to yourself a couple of years ago, when I couldn't swim a length of front crawl. I adopted the try, try and try again training schedule. Do a length. Then try and do two, and so on and so forth. I found that when I got past 10 lengths improvements were fairly easy so that after 3 months I did a 152 length swim (IM distance) non stop in my pool.

I think it will suddenly click with your breathing if you just keep going and forcing yourself a bit further each time.