Tri Talk HomepageTri Talk EventsTri Talk ForumsBlogsTri Talk TrainingTri TradeTriPlayerWikiTeam Tri Talk
Steelman: First Olympic Distance - Race Report

View previous topic :: View next topic  
TeamAwesome

PostPosted: Mon Jul 06, 2009 8:38 pm    Post subject: Steelman: First Olympic Distance - Race Report Reply with quote

So, I've never done an Olympic Distance race before and I've never written a race report before, so here goes...

I entered the Human Race Steelman at Dorney Lake a few months ago and was my 4th ever Triathlon. In my first season of 'racing' Triathlons my first Olympic Distance race came round very quickly indeed on Sunday.

So how did it go? Well for a start, I dont drive so rely on public transport to get to races. A significant shortcoming of planning for Sunday was checking that Taplow Station was open, which of course it wasnt so I had to get off at Maidenhead and ride, only another few Kms but not ideal!

Arriving at Dorney lake I was pretty relaxed, I completed a spring event there in May so was pretty relaxed about what I was expecting. The non-wetsuit ruling did add a bit of nerves as the extra bouyancy is always welcome but the water was a good temperature and I had been doing good work in training in the pool. Apart from feet cramping during the second lap I was happy with my swim and finished in 37 mins. I really need to learn how to draft, I never seem to find any feet travelling at the same speed as me!

Out of the swim, into transition. Was REALLY dizzy and spent too long trying to get my shoes on. Unfortunately i was racked right next to the swim entry and the next wave had started to congregate so having spectators added to the fumbling!