Tri Talk HomepageTri Talk EventsTri Talk ForumsBlogsTri Talk TrainingTri TradeTriPlayerWikiTeam Tri Talk
Event Photography
Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
bazep

PostPosted: Mon Sep 27, 2010 12:32 pm    Post subject: Event Photography Reply with quote

Anyone got any experience with this or can offer any advice?

I've never really considered making money out of my other hobby, but after a couple of sporting events (cycling and running) I have really enjoyed it and folk have started saying I should get paid for it (or just starting to assume that that's what I do for a living). It has got me wondering if I could or if I'm better off just taking snaps of friends for free. I'm not a newb and have invested in some reasonable kit so there wouldn't be any probs with the actual pics. I am thinking it might be possible to do this on the odd weekend for local events. I have a decent job so I'm not looking to "go pro" as such just maybe a little sideline.

I was going to ask this on one of the togging forums but wondered if there were any friendlies here before I get flamed for even suggesting that a non-pro togger could even pick up a camera.

Any views? (don't worry I have my tin hat on...)
Nellie

PostPosted: Mon Sep 27, 2010 12:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i wouldn't mind paying a fiver for a photo, I do object to having to pay 12 for one though
2 scheds

PostPosted: Mon Sep 27, 2010 12:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you aim for high volume, low margin - you'd probably destroy most of the competition.

The asking prices I've seen are nearly as shocking as some of the entry fees out there.

IMHO there's lots of money to be made by a photography outfit who don't treat their propective customers like idiots.
White Noise

PostPosted: Mon Sep 27, 2010 1:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

antbliss on this site is an event snapper, you could give him a PM
WN
White Noise