Unsolicited Advice whilst training

With the viral TikTok Pro Lady Golfists video doing the rounds, it made me wonder about the TT massives experiences off receiving or giving unsolicited advice and the reactions.

My own recent example was recieving advice in the weights room before Christmas. I was DLing with an Olympic bar and the “gym rat” came up to me, and told me I was lifting my left heal slightly. I was grateful for the heal tip as I hadnt noticed it (it was very slight l, but important to fix) , said “thanks”, when he then said, “thats why you must always train in front of a mirror” He then decided to be a real pro and added that I should never use the Olympic bar, only a trap bar for DL’s . I thought he was a bit of a dick. I just thanked him rather than be equally a bit of a knob about it and call him out, explain Im a L3 BW strength coach or post a video for likes.

I wouldnt dream of going up to a stranger to offer advice either, even as a qualified swim/tri/strength coach, unless I thought there was a real risk of serious injury to them or others

9 Likes

Unsolicited advice.

And it’s bed partner, unsolicited fist.

I just saw the bbc article. I think I can tell why that man decided to strike up a conversation. I’m surprised they didn’t talk about unwanted advances.

I stopped at a pedestrian crossing last night so two old ladies could finish crossing the road. Two cyclists under took me to speed through. The pedestrians thanked me.

I offered some unsolicited advice shortly afterwards to the cyclists. So it has its place :smiley:

16 Likes

If someone asks I’ll try and be helpful or if anything is obviously wrong like they’ve got their helmet on the wrong way round :rofl:

7 Likes

Only boxing.

I’m not good / technical enough to give anyone advice on anything else although I have had a few virtual non swimmers in the pool at the gym as they wanted to do a tri, blind leading the blind springs to mind.